Introducing: Music Mondays!

18 Jul

Music has always been near and dear to my heart! Some of my earliest memories from childhood include listening to classical music with my parents, having the smooth voice of Mr. Sinatra lull me to sleep, and singing along to the country classics of Patsy Cline. My music taste is literally all over the place; you name it and I probably love it! Nowadays, I do most of my listening at the gym — I find it to be the perfect place where I can simultaneously enjoy the music I am listening to and have the music help me push through my workout. With about 6,000 songs currently sittin’ pretty in my iTunes, I often look forward to rocking out to a new playlist each time I hit the gym.

Because I’ve always found that having new songs to download, or simply having a new playlist of old favorites, makes me more motivated to get my workout on… I thought it would be fun to start a new tradition where every Monday I share one of my playlists with you! If you are someone like me, who literally refuses to workout without some sort of sound infiltrating your ears, then I sincerely hope that you will scroll to the bottom of this post and enjoy these fast paced beats during your next workout!

Now, to get back to my day, I didn’t wake up until about noon… which was the perfect excuse for one of my favorite meals: brunch! I whipped up 3 egg-whites and toasted a delicious whole grain roll. Since I’m a huge fan of flavor in general, and the biggest sucker for anything spicy… I obviously took it upon myself to add a little kick to my eggs. Egg-whites are way too boring to be eaten as is, so when they were almost done cooking in the pan I sprinkled in a bit (okay, a lot) of cayenne pepper, some garlic and onion powder, as well as a little oregano to give those babies some much needed flavor. I prefer to add my spices in the pan, rather than once my eggs are on the roll, so that the spices end up more evenly distributed and I end up getting a better bite-to-flavor ratio!

I didn’t make it to the gym until around 9:15pm today, since I spent the majority of my day doing lots and lots of LSAT problems. I actually enjoy going to the gym later in the day, since I find that’s when I naturally have the most energy — and I also don’t mind that the gym is more crowded during those hours. Hello, people watching! I did a 50-minute pyramid interval workout on the elliptical that I sort of made up as I went along, followed by an abs circuit. I ended up kinda having fun with my cardio today, and the intervals made the time fly by — always a plus. I’m hoping sometime this week to start writing out in detail some of my workouts so that I can share those with you as well, but for now, I’m off to read some of the new issue of Cosmo that finally found its way into my mailbox this afternoon. I’m so excited to see Kim on the cover! I’ll leave you all with a little secret — I’m kind of convinced I was a Kardashian in another life. Don’t judge, and enjoy the playlist!

Is listening to music while working out a must for you? And, if so, what is your favorite kind of music to get you through a work out?

Standalone player
7 Responses to “Introducing: Music Mondays!”

  1. Julie H. of Spinach and Sprinkles July 19, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    I love to listen to music while working out but sadly, it is too dangerous for me to run and listen to music…. I run on country roads and if I have my i-pod going, I seriously can’t hear if a truck or something is coming. It scares my mom & the husband, so I appease them and just listen to the birdies! 🙂 ….Love your playlist though! (If I’m indoors I’m watching KLG & Hooda, Rachel Ray, or something girly!)

  2. Jimmy Choos on The Treadmill July 19, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    I definitely need music while working out…it always puts me in a better mood!

  3. tinkerbelle86 July 20, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    i run faster and further when listening to music but i have to have a certain playlist with fast moving songs… kids in america, wham, calvin harris, eye of the tiger… music to make my feet keep moving!

  4. Cait's Plate July 20, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    Haha – my sisters and I always say we’re like the Kardashians (minus all the money, big houses and fame!) – no judgement here!

  5. Jen July 21, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    i love listening to music on long runs…it keeps me from getting bored!

  6. Keri @ Blue-Eyed Runner July 22, 2011 at 8:07 am #

    Hi! New to your blog 🙂 I think its so great that you are living a healthy lifestyle in college…this is something I wish I did. I was SO unhealthy in college…it wasn’t until I got out that I cleaned up my life! GOOD FOR YOU and love the blog 🙂

    • Vanessa July 22, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

      Thank you so much!! Can’t wait to check out your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

